There are several Benefits Of Having A Chl In Texas for Military service members.
§ 411.1881. EXEMPTION FROM INSTRUCTION FOR MILITARY PERSON:
No range required for Active Duty Military Texas CHL:
- Active-Duty Military servicemen and servicewomen with ANY military passing range card will not be required, under Texas State law, to perform the range proficiency portion of the Texas license to carry course.
Exempt From the Shooting Portion:
- All they need is either range scores OR any proof of firearms familiarization training dated within the past 10 years. This can be on a rifle (long gun) or a handgun, it does not matter.
- They will ONLY need an online course to obtain their Texas license to carry. Texas Military Forces (Texas Army National Guard, Texas Air National Guard, and Texas State Guard) are also qualified for this same exemption.
- Veterans with ANY passing military range card proceeding 10 years are also exempt from the range proficiency portion of the Texas license to carry course.
Note: Military range card does NOT have to be a handgun qualification.
- Active Texas Military Service Members age 18 are now eligible for concealed Handgun license (CHL). New legislation allows active members of the military that are at least 18 years of age to apply for a Texas CHL License.
- No matter where you transfer to, you can always just renew your Texas CHL online every 5 years from literally anywhere.
- The Texas CHL allows you to carry in more states than any other license in the United States.
- The state license fee (paid to DPS) is \$0 for active-duty military.
- Online Texas CHL class works on all devices including your smart phone. You can take it at your own pace 24/7, when and where ever you want.
- Once you complete their online course; you are going to submit a copy of their weapons qualifications which you do in the military.
Texas LTC Questions and Answers – Benefits of CHL Texas for Military Service Members
2 passport size photos / Fingerprints
Driver’s license or State ID
(Active-Duty Military or Veterans with Range Certification within last 10 years, a copy of Range Card Etc.)
If they want the benefits that are given with a Texas License to Carry, they will have to take the class, and submit documents like any other citizen. That in mind Active-Duty Military get a huge discount from the State of Texas.
The Texas License to Carry class is a great way to get your license and start carrying the firearm that suits you best. You’ll apply online, pay an applicable fee (which changes depending on which type of applicant you are), then receive your permit in mail within about 60 business days!
- Standard $40
- Active-Duty Military $0
- Veteran $25
- State Correctional Officer $0
- County Jailer $0
The above fees are separate from your class fee and are paid directly to the State for a 5-year LTC.
No Active-Duty Military get the same rights as any other Texan. They can open carry if the wish (NOT ON BASE, DIFFERENT LAWS THERE). I highly encourage active duty get their License to Carry Concealed Carry Texas though. Texas is a very Military friendly state. Active-Duty members pay \$0 for the LTC License. All they pay for is the class (Ours is online and $40) and their fingerprints / passport photo.
In a nutshell, LTC replaced the CHL so other than the name they are the same.
Texas License to Carry Online Class
The Texas License to Carry Online Class is the perfect way to earn your Texas Concealed Handgun License. This comprehensive online course covers all the topics required by the State of Texas. Our class is Vote #1 in the Great State of Texas, 100% DPS Approved, 100% Self-Paced, and works on any Device including your Smartphone.
Course Provider: Organization
Course Provider Name: Conceal Carry Academy
Course Provider URL: https://concealedcarryintexas.com/single-class-page/
Originally posted on April 23, 2022 @ 6:18 am