Learn How to obtain your Texas LTC Online
The License to Carry a Handgun service allows you to apply online at the Texas Department of Public Safety. To obtain your Texas LTC, one must complete online training from a Texas DPS-approved provider and pass the Texas LTC exam, and complete a familiarization qualification.
Do I have to be a resident of Texas to obtain a Texas License to carry a handgun (LTC)?
No. Per Texas Government Code §411.173, legal residents of another state or persons who relocate to Texas with the intent to establish residency may obtain an LTC. Those individuals must submit an application, pay the required fees, successfully complete the required training in Texas and submit all supporting documents. They also must submit form LTC-6, two passport-style photos and a copy of their out of state driver license or state-issued identification card. Note, however, that all LTC applicants must be legal residents of Texas or another state.
In order to obtain your Texas LTC online, you should follow the following steps:
Step 1: Determine your eligibility for LTC.
To obtain the Texas LTC online, one must be eligible under Section 411.172 of the Texas Penal Code. A person is eligible for a license to carry a concealed handgun if they meet the following criteria:
- Applicant is at least 21 years old;
- Applicant has never been convicted of a felony;
- Applicant is not charged with a Class A or Class B misdemeanor or equivalent offense, or an offense under Section 42.01 of the Penal Code or an equivalent offense, or a felony under an information or indictment;
- Applicant is not a fugitive from justice for a felony, a Class A or Class B misdemeanor, or an equivalent offense;
- Applicant is not chemically dependent;
- Applicant is not incapable of exercising sound judgment in the use and storage of a handgun;
- Applicant has not been convicted of a Class A or Class B misdemeanor or equivalent offense, or an offense under Penal Code Section 42.01 or equivalent offense, in the five years preceding the date of application;
- Applicant is fully qualified to buy a handgun under applicable federal and state law;
- Applicant has not been determined to be delinquent in making a child support payment administered or collected by the attorney general;
- Applicant has not been adjudicated to be delinquent in the payment of a tax or other money collected by the comptroller, the tax collector of a political subdivision of the state, or any other agency or subdivision of the state;
- Applicant is not currently restricted by a court protective order or subject to a restraining order affecting the spousal relationship, other than a restraining order solely affecting property interests;
- Applicant has not been adjudicated as having engaged in delinquent conduct in violation of a penal law of the grade of a felony in the ten years preceding the date of application; and
- Applicant has not made any material misrepresentation or failure to disclose any material fact in an application submitted under Section 411.174.
Step 2: Register online.
In order to obtain your Texas LTC online, you should register for an online scheduled class and take the DSP-approved online license to carry a handgun (LTC) class at your convenience.
After successfully completing the online classroom portion, an applicant must attend 1-2 hours of instruction class and demonstrate handgun proficiency (shooting) with a Texas Qualified LTC Instructor.
Fee to obtain Texas LTC online may vary in price, but it typically ranges between \$50 and \$60.
NOTE: Active duty military or veterans who have proof of weapons familiarization training OR shooting scores from within the last 10 years are eligible. It can be on either a rifle or a handgun. You will not need to give this to attend the class; instead, you will submit it to DPS with your application after completing the online course.
Fingerprints & DPS Application
This is a two-step process that begins with submitting the necessary Texas Department of Safety application. Following the submission of your application, you will schedule an appointment to have your fingerprints taken at an IdentoGO Center. The length of this stage of the process will vary depending on how many people are at the center and other factors.
Step 3: Submit an application to the Texas DSP for LTC.
Fill out the online Department of Public Safety (DPS) state application, which is available on the DSP website, and pay the fee.
$40 Standard Fee
\$25 for Military Veteran
$0 Active Duty
Step 4: Fingerprinting
Schedule an appointment near you online and complete your fingerprinting. After your fingerprints are taken, FBI clearances typically take 30-45 days to appear in the USCIS system. The clearances are valid for 15 months after they are issued. In some cases, applicants may be fingerprinted again.
Step 5: Gather Documents
Save the LTC class completion certificate you received and submit the following documents on Texas DSP once you’ve completed the class and shooting proficiency demonstration.
- Two passport-sized photos
- A copy of their out-of-state driver’s license or state-issued identification card
- A certificate of completion for class training from a DPS-approved institute.
Documents you must submit to Texas DPS if you are any of the following;
If you were born outside of the United States of America (U.S.), please submit a copy of one of the following documents:
- Passport from the United States,
- Certificate of Naturalization, or
- A birth certificate.
- Veteran / Service Member
- If you have previously served in the military, please include a copy of your DD 214.
Active Duty or National Guard:
If you are Active Duty, Active Reserve, or National Guard, please submit a copy of your Military ID (front and back) as well as one of the following documents:
- a copy of your most recent earnings and leave statement (LES),
- a copy of your most recent active duty orders
- A letter of recommendation from your current commanding officer.
Step 7: Wait for your LTC
The Texas Department of Public Safety is now investigating the incident. Depending on the time of year, processing can take anywhere from a few days to several weeks. If more information or documents are required, the Texas DPS will contact you via mail.
Common LTC FAQs
Online Class – 4 Hours / In-Person Class 8-12 hours
Range – 1-2 hours
Fingerprints 30 minutes
However long it takes you to fill out the paperwork and payment online
Then about 8 weeks for Texas DPS to mail you your License to Carry.
4 Hours (Minimum Required by Texas DPS)
Originally posted on May 6, 2022 @ 9:00 am