Save your gas Money and take our LTC Class online
Are you looking for how to get your Texas Concealed Carry - Texas License to Carry?
Texas State only allowed concealed carry before 2016. In 2016 Texas State passed the law and allowed both open carries and concealed carry of the handgun. So they changed the term of gun permit from concealed handgun license to license to carry (LTC). And now it is known as Texas license to carry.
LTC stands for License to Carry. For carrying a gun you need a license to carry in Texas. Texas LTC allows you to legally conceal carry a handgun or open carry a handgun in a belt or should holster. The license to carry in Texas is only used for handguns and no other weapons fall under this license. The Texas State rules and regulations regarding the carrying laws are very lenient as compared to the other US states.
And they provide many benefits to the gun permit holders. The license to carry in Texas is provided by the Department of Public Safety. Texas State has a reciprocity agreement with around 40 states. And with your Texas License to carry you can carry your gun in other states too. A license to carry also allows you to carry your gun in more places and also provides protection to its holders. The Texas license to carry provides trespassing protection to its holders. The license to carry helps you in defending yourself in court because it easily clears the situation.
There are a few steps that you need to follow to get your license to carry in Texas.
1. Getting Online Training/ In-Person Training
The first step is to get an LTC training. Currently, there are two methods of training. One is the online classes and the second one is the In-person physical classes. It depends on the individual which training he chooses. This training is about the carrying laws, gun laws, situation handling, and awareness. The time period required for completion of both the online and in-person classes ranges from 4 hours to 6 hours. In online classes, you can take classes in intervals at the ease of your home and time. The in-person classes are a little bit expensive as compared to the online class so people mostly prefer online classes.
After completing the course you have to pass a 25 questions quiz. If you pass the quiz then you are awarded an LTC-101 certificate.
2. Shooting Proficiency Test
After passing the course and getting the LTC-101 certificate you go to a local LTC instructor where you go through a shooting training and a shooting test. In the shooting test, you have to fire 50 rounds from different distances.
You have to fire 20 rounds from 3 yards, 20 rounds from 7 yards, and in the last 10 rounds from 15 yards. After passing the shooting test your LTC instructor will provide you with the completed certificate.
3. Submitting Supporting Documents & Application Form to DPS Website
In the third step, you will need to submit an application on the Department of Public Safety website. After completing the application. You will have to submit your fingerprints. Disclosure of criminal history, background check consent, and payment of a fee to the Department of Public Safety are all requirements for the LTC. You will also have to submit your LTC-100 certificate issued by your LTC instructor.
After submitting all the documents the application is reviewed by the Department of Public Safety. For reviewing documents and the application DPS takes around 8 weeks’ time, and when the application gets approved by DPS they will issue the License to Carry and send it through the mail.
Texas LTC State License Fee
The Texas LTC class is a great way to get your license and start carrying the firearm that suits you best. You’ll apply online, pay an applicable fee (which changes depending on which type of applicant you are), then receive your permit in mail within about 60 business days!
- Standard $40
- Active Duty Military $0
- Veteran $25
- State Correctional Officer $0
- County Jailer $0
The above fees are separate from your class fee and are payed directly to the State for a 5 year LTC.
As Texas has now allowed both the conceal carry of a handgun and the open carry of a handgun then you should really look into getting a Texas License to Carry. The LTC gives you freedoms of Concealed Carry that gives that one more layer of protection. And if you don’t want to worry about any restrictions that come with Permitless carry then a LTC is the way to go.
Conceal Carry Academy is committed to providing the best firearms training available. Whether you want to take an LTC class to get your carry permit or you simply want to learn how to shoot and handle a gun safely, Conceal Carry Academy has exactly what you need. Contact Us Today!
This Post Has One Comment
wow its amazing blog and this content is very useful and this help to well trained thank u
Comments are closed.