Have you been asking is the LTC worth getting? Lets walk through it
18–20-year-olds can now get a Concealed Carry in Texas. The new age requirement for the Texas License to Carry – Texas Concealed Carry is now only 18 years old per Federal Court Ruling.
Firearms Policy Coalition, Inc. et. al., v. Steven McCraw, et. al., No. 4:21-cv-1245-P
The Classroom Section:
You probably have a co-worker, a friend, a relative, or someone that you know who has likely gone through the process to get Texas License to Carry permit. And you may wonder why, or you may be wondering if the LTC is worth getting, if it is what is right for you, or if you should pursue the determination of getting a License to Carry (LTC). The answer is of course YES!
I believe that there are many benefits to having the LTC permit so let's go over a few of the biggest benefits and legal protections that you receive by having an LTC handgun or firearm permit.
- The first one is the most obvious reason and that is that LTC provides legal protections that allow people to keep a gun for their safety purpose.
- A major benefit of having the LTC means purchasing handguns from a Federal Firearms Licensee (“FFL”) is a smooth transaction because it does not require an “FBI” instant check.
- Another obvious reason that makes LTC worth getting is that LTC will allow reciprocity to carry in other states where there is a Reciprocal Agreement or state law that recognizes the Texas firearms license.
- School district employees who have been issued LTC have protections that allow them to keep a firearm and confetti concealed in their locked motor vehicle in a school parking lot for their protection.
- LTC provides a legal entity to the NICS Background Check System (NICS) when purchasing.
- LTC holders have protections related to the accidental carrying of a firearm in the secured area of an airport they retain their ability to avoid arrest in the event they inadvertently have a firearm through the airport and if they right away depart the secured area when notified they own a handgun.
- The LTC owner is legally allowed to take a gun at an open meeting of a government body, in a hospital, nursing home, amusement park, church, synagogue, or any other place of worship unless given notice under 30.06 or 30.07, non-holder cannot carry their period.
- Legal restrictions against carrying handguns at the bar do not apply to LTC holders unless the bar has posted a 51% sign by law.
- Restaurant signs that do not have a 51% on them, and if they include the word “unlicensed” in reference to who can’t carry there, they’re letting you know LTC holders can still carry on the premises because they are licensed.
- LTC holders are not prone to felony execution under the Federal Gun-Free School Zone law.
- LTC is cost-effective it will cost you $40 which is valid for five years ($8 per year).
Thus, LTC is unquestionably worth getting. Anyone serious about carrying will continue to obtain a Texas License to Carry (LTC) because it imposes fewer restrictions, allows for carrying in more locations, and provides legal protection.
When you’re ready to get your Texas License to Carry (LTC), make sure you choose a premier training provider. Conceal Carry Academy is committed to offering the best firearms training possible. When they need information on firearms safety or they want to take a Texas LTC class, gun owners trust the expertise of the pros from Conceal Carry Academy. If you have questions about any aspect of gun ownership in Texas, contact us today!